Kent City Schools District Profile

About the Kent City Schools:

Since 1860, the Kent City School district has been educating children and currently serves more than 3,300 students in four elementary buildings, one middle school and one high school. The district is comprised of the City of Kent, Franklin Township and the Village of Sugar Bush Knolls. Enrollment in grades Preschool – 12 for the 2017-18 school year is 3,360.

What makes the Kent Schools special?

  • Our teachers and staff prepare our students to be academically successful and ready to meet the challenges of today’s global society.
  • A diverse student body combines many backgrounds, talents. languages, and cultures.
  • A continuum of support is available for students with exceptional needs, including English learners, students with disabilities and gifted students.
  • A character education program helps integrate positive character traits into the curriculum while addressing issues important to families and the community.
  • Special attention to the social-emotional and mental health needs of students and staff, including Red Flags training for all staff, full time counselors in each building, and relationships with community partners.
  • Teachers and students benefit from partnerships with Kent State University, the Ben Curtis Foundation and other community and business supporters.
  • All district buildings are fully wired for Internet, and networking. Schools have their own computer labs.
  • More than 75% of our teachers have master’s degrees and most have at least 13 years of classroom experience.

Theodore Roosevelt High School

  • Students at Theodore Roosevelt High School can choose from more than 200 courses including electives in art, speech, drama, journalism, music, foreign languages, math, English, science, and social studies, and fourteen Advanced Placement courses.
  • Wide-ranging music and drama options include marching, concert, jazz, and pep bands, wind symphony, orchestra, choral groups, and Drama Guild performances.
  • Eleven career-technical education College Tech Prep initiatives are available at Roosevelt and 15 others offered through the Six District educational compact.
  • Over 60 clubs and co-curricular options are offered, including an extensive student leadership program.
  • Student athletes can choose from 30 different interscholastic sports.

Stanton Middle School

  • Stanton Middle School incorporates an interdisciplinary team teaching approach. Students learn from a group of teachers who collaborate on instructional plans and implementation.
  • Activities include Builder’s Club, Kent Girl Coders, STEM Club, Ski and Snowboard Club, and Student Council.
  • Student athletes can choose from 15 different interscholastic sports.

Elementary Schools:
Davey Elementary School
Holden Elementary School
Longcoy Elementary School
Walls Elementary School

  • Our four neighborhood elementary schools offer a diverse curriculum of reading, mathematics, English, spelling, handwriting, composition, computers, social studies, science, health, art, physical education and music. Special programs include visits from children’s authors, distance learning, Right to Read Week, multicultural art and music programs.
  • A continuum of supports for all learners is provided through in-school and after school tutoring, summer school, and community partnerships.
  • All-day kindergarten is available at no extra cost to every family in the district.
  • A specially-designed preschool wing at Davey Elementary houses the district’s 5-Star Step up to Quality half-day preschool.